Federal Criminal Case Processing Statistics
arrow pointing down and to right Overview of Federal Criminal Case Processing

There are seven stages of federal criminal case processing, from arrest to incarceration and supervision of convicted offenders:

  • Arrest refers to the arrest of a suspect by a federal law enforcement agency.
  • Prosecution refers to the investigation of criminal matters.
  • Pretrial release includes the release and detention of defendants before adjudication.
  • Adjudication covers the criminal court proceedings through case disposition.
  • Sentencing covers sentences imposed on convicted defendants.
  • Appeals covers cases filed and terminated on appeals.
  • Corrections includes offenders under supervision (i.e., probation, supervised release, or parole) and offenders in prison.

Learn more:

Federal Justice Statistics Program (FJSP)
Data available from the FJSP
Overview of Federal Criminal Case Processing

Back to Top