BJS: Bureau of Justice Statistics

Home  |  About Us  |  Contact Us  |  Help  |  A-Z Topic List
Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS)
Home  | FAQ Detail
FAQ Detail
What types of crime does the NCVS measure? 

The NCVS measures violent and property crime experienced by victims in the United States. This includes—--

  • Violent crimes of rape or sexual assault, robbery, aggravated or simple assault.
  • Personal theft.
  • Property crimes of household burglary, motor vehicle theft, and theft.

Back to Top